Pearly Clouds - Tóni Dezső, Szabó Enikő, Gary Lucas

Fonó, 2018
FA 420-2
Bar code: 5998048542024

Following some memorable concerts, here’s a record by this remarkable trio.

1. My Sweet Mother’s Rosewood
2. High Up Is The Churchyard In Dézs
3. Two Roads
4. I Dislike How Times Are Changing
5. Those Beautiful Saxon Girls
6. My Snow White
7. My Little Brown-haired Girl
8. I Wish I Could Go
9. Over The Water
10. Questions and Answers
11. Wayfarer
12. Dream Has Fallen
13. The Mill Has No Grindstone
14. Sorrowful Is This World

Gary Lucas - guitar
Enikő Szabó - voice
Tóni Dezső - alto and baritone sax


This is Pearly Clouds' introductory album. The members of this international formation are: the acclaimed Grammy Award winning guitarist Gary Lucas; singer-song writer Enikő Szabó; and avant-garde free-jazz saxophonist Tóni Dezső.

Perhaps Pearly Clouds' music can best be described as “avant-folk and ethno jazz-blues” and gives us some idea of the album’s deep, varied and refined sound. The pieces and performance style are a unique mixture of the members’ styles, where lyrical and exciting music enrich authentic melodies and messages from Hungarian folk songs.

New Yorker Magazine has called Gary Lucas "the thinking man's guitar hero", the Independent (UK) "the world’s most popular avant-rock guitarist". The New York Times described him as “guitarist of a thousand ideas”, and according to fRoots "no question, he’s the most innovative and challenging guitarist playing today". He has worked with Captain Beefheart, Nick Cave, Lou Reed, Patti Smith, Jeff Buckley and Peter Hammill amongst many, many others.

Enikő Szabó is one of the most interesting and multifaceted singers on the Hungarian music scene. We may recognize her beautiful voice from her folk music performances with Csaba Ökrös, or her jazz performances with Elemér Balázs. She also performs regularly with Tablatura Old Music Ensemble. She released a first album of her own songs “Szabó Enikő és Zenekara” in 2014.

Dezső Tóni has been known for twenty years on the Eastern Europe avant-garde scene, his strong melodies embrace free improvisation in a continuously evolving style. He has performed a lot in both Europe and America; he met Gary Lucas in New York.

Pearly Clouds’ unusual grouping of voice and instruments, though difficult to typecast, certainly widens our notions of music and language borders.

All titles composed by Gary Lucas, Enikő Szabó and Tóni Dezső, except Track 6 composed by Gary Lucas,
Track 11 composed by Gary Lucas and Enikő Szabó, and Track 14 composed by Enikő Szabó and Tóni Dezső.
Guest: Janka Pap-vocals 5, 14., Sound sorcery: Attila Kölcsényi Köles, Special thanks to: Gábor Madarász Madi, Gábor Metzger, Cover design: Dóra Kiss, Photo: Csaba Aknay, Pre printing: Marianne Szilasi

További infomációk »

Letöltési linkek

2.000 HUF / 6 EUR

This product is not available phisically at our webshop, please use the above links for downloading.

Fonó Music Hall H-1116 Budapest, Sztregova u. 3. Phone: (+36 - 1) 206-5300 Telefax: (+36 - 1) 206-5300 (Monday-Friday: 09.00-16.00) E-mail: Web:

© 2015. Fonó Music Hall - All rights reserved

Weboldalunkon cookie-kat (sütiket) használunk, hogy személyre szabott szolgáltatást nyújthassunk látogatóink részére.